An Interview with Love Inspired’s Lacy Williams

Hi everyone!

This week is Release Week for my third book in the Brides of Waterloo series, Healing the Soldier’s Heart. And if you’re familiar with the way Love Inspired releases books, then you know that every month a handful of new books get wings. I decided it would be fun to interview my fellow release authors for the month of August–get to know them better and then offer one lucky reader a chance to win all four August titles–and autographed to boot!

I’d like to kick things off by introducing Lacy Williams. Lacy sent me her bio, and it goes like this:

By day, Lacy Williams is a stay-at-home mom battling dirty diapers and dog-hair dust-bunnies. By night, she is an award-winning novelist. She loves dogs, chocolate ice cream and romantic movies. Oh, and her number-crunching husband.

I love it. Short, sassy, and to the point. I decided to ask each author the same set of questions so we could get a feel for each other’s quirks across the board. So…on to the interview!

LG: At what point did you decide to write Christian historical romance? In other words, what was your “a-ha!” moment?
LW: I knew that I wanted to write something both my grandmas and my daughters could read. For me, that mean inspirational romance so it would be clean but still have a lot of emotion. I have always loved reading inspy romance as well, so it was a natural fit for me.
LG: What “eras” are your favorite, and is there an era you haven’t written about that strikes your fancy?
LW: I love writing Westerns and I think it must’ve started when my dad read me and my siblings Louis L’Amour books during my childhood. I love the action and cowboys and how tough people had to be just to survive.
I love reading Regencies and have completed about a third of one before I wrote my second Western. I still like the story and may go back and finish it some day.
LG: If you could only read one author/book for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
LW: Oh, wow am I glad this is only hypothetical! There are too many good ones that I am addicted to. Probably Kim Vogel Sawyer. I love the romance and emotion and heroes in her books.
LG: What was the biggest stumbling block you had to overcome with your writing career?
LW: Getting past the sagging middle. When I was still learning the craft, I would get mid-way into a manuscript and be unable to finish. When I finally started learning how to develop full, well-rounded characters the middles got a lot easier for me. What do I still struggle with? Deadlines. It seems like the kids always get sick about a week before I have to turn something in.
LG: What is the biggest joy your career has brought you so far?
LW: “Meeting” new readers through emails and letters, and at in-person events. I love hearing that my writing has touched someone or just that they enjoyed it.
Roping the Wrangler (Love Inspired Historical Series)
And here’s a sneak peek at her newest release, Roping the Wrangler:

Teacher Seeks a Husband

Schoolmarm Sarah Hansen longs for a family of her own. But horse trainer Oscar White is the last man she’d consider. Still, she can’t help noticing the care he shows three motherless girls and the gentle way he helps Sarah overcome her fear of horses.

Too bossy by half—that’s the Sarah that Oscar remembers from their teenage years. Yet as a former orphan, he finds the little Caldwell sisters—and their pretty teacher—getting under his skin. Could the tender heart Sarah’s always hidden tame a once-reckless wrangler?

Remember, drop by to comment all week on these blogs and you will be entered to win the autographed bundle! Contest open to US residents only. Thank you!

One thought on “An Interview with Love Inspired’s Lacy Williams

  1. Hi Lacy and Lily, I so enjoy reading Christian fiction because they are so good and healthy. I love chocolate too! Jenny

Leave a Reply

