Mamavation Monday: Checking In

I am, by nature, a very goal-oriented person. I always have been. I remember one summer, I was in 6th grade headed into junior high, and the weeks stretched before me–empty weeks, with nothing to do. I was too young to get a job or to get a life of my own, but too old for my mother to find something to occupy my months at home. I needed to do something to fill the hot, sleepy Texas afternoons, so I did what any self-respecting teenage girl would do.

I copied entire entries out of my mom’s Rules of Court book. By hand.

Why?

Well, I needed to improve my handwriting, for one. And my mom was looking into law school, so I thought it might help her out. Why my handwritten copies of something she already had and didn’t use would be of any interest to her, I don’t know. But I needed to have a goal, and I needed to have tasks, and so I created one out of nothing.

As you might suspect, the New Year is a highly anticipated, do or die time of year for me. 365 days, all stretching before me. How will I fill them? What will my goals be?

I started early this year, by submitting my application on December 10  to the Mamavation Mom challenege. Since posting my app video, I have:

–Completed the #12daysoffitmas hazing

–Continued to do every single day of hazing, even when I thought it’d kill me

–Gotten to the point where I don’t think I will burp up while doing burpees

–Given up Diet Coke (have been DC-free for over a week and counting)

–Signed up for a half-share of Urban Acres organic produce every two weeks

–Cheered on other Mamavation applicants and gotten to know some really nice people

–Started walking my dog again (I can’t blame it on the weather any longer).

So my goal for 2013 was already set, my resolutions went right along with it–to work towards being a Mamavation Mom and if I’m not chosen, to keep right on going with working out and weight loss while relying on the Mamavation community for support.

The difference between now and years past is that I don’t have a feeling of “And when I lose the weight, I will…” as though healthy living is finite and can end when that magical goal weight is achieved. I have more of a feeling of permanent change, of knowing that this is long term, and that when 2014 rolls around, my goal will, for once, not center on my weight.

If you want to support me in this, please tweet the following message…and thank you!

Hey @bookieboo! I want @lilygeorge2 to be the next #Mamavation Mom. She has my support! http://bit.ly/aorv3Y

This post is sponsored by Schick Intuition and hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway.

5 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday: Checking In

  1. Way to go Lily! I admire you for putting yourself out there! I hope to one day gain the balls to do it. I hope you become one of the next two Mamavation Moms.

  2. I LOVE your comment…. “I will…” as though healthy living is finite and can end when that magical goal weight is achieved. I have more of a feeling of permanent change, of knowing that this is long term, and that when 2014 rolls around, my goal will, for once, not center on my weight.” Girl I am cheering you on and I will say I am right there with you that on 1/1/2014 I will not have lose weight on my list of resolutions. I am right here supporting you to that goal!

  3. You know I’m cheering you on!!! I have the same attitude. Even if I’m not chosen I will continue. I will be disappointed, BUT I WILL continue on this journey and we will be doing it together!!!

  4. I love your outlook on a healthy lifestyle change! That’s what I’ve been doing for 7 months now and it makes a word of difference to motivate me to keep going when the scale doesn’t budge…because we are still making healthy choices after all.

Leave a Reply

