Mamavation Monday: #12daysoffitmas and a short rant

I want to open this by saying it feels frivolous indeed to be writing a blog about anything in the wake of the Sandy Hook school shooting. I see the names of the children, and I see their birthdates. And I know that they were all the same age as my daughter. And as I try to take it all in, I find I can’t. My mind just goes “click” and I can’t fathom it. It’s horrifying and surreal and at times like these, even the writers can’t find anything useful to say. I know I can’t.

I would also like to say that in times of great tragedy, I find no comfort in Facebook. Many of my friends–on both sides of the political spectrum–use an event like this to espouse their political agendas. No sooner did the news of Sandy Hook break than my Facebook feed was littered with political memes, both pro and con gun control, or pro and con free mental health, or pro and con media coverage of the event and so on.

I’m sorry, but posting 15 different political memes of Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka to 150 of your nearest and dearest friends does not a march in the street make.

Nor is it appropriate to begin using a national tragedy as your personal idealogical soapbox before the news is even an hour old.

Here are some tangible ways to help:

The United Way has set up a fund:

https://newtown.uwwesternct.org/

As has the Red Cross:

http://www.redcross.org/support/donating-fundraising/donations

I have chosen not to talk to my daughter about this because she’s too young to comprehend it, and because I don’t want her to be scared. However, other parents may want to talk to their kids about it, especially if your kids are older. If that’s the case, Save the Children has several tips for handling this subject with your child:

http://www.savethechildren.org/site/c.8rKLIXMGIpI4E/b.8479773/k.2264/How_to_Help_Children_Cope_with_a_Crisis.htm

If you want to do something to help, these resources can get you started.

Getting back to the business of Mamavation Monday, as you know, I applied for boot camp. I also have been participating in the #12daysoffitmas hazing. I have to say that I now realize I have no upper body strength. At. All. I’m like a tyrannosaurus rex. All tiny flailing arms and big hulking legs. I’ve been sore all week, but at the same time, it’s a good kind of sore. I can physically feel which parts of my body need work.

If you want to support me in my bid for boot camp, simply tweet the following message:

Hey @bookieboo! I want @lilygeorge2 to be the next #Mamavation Mom. She has my support! http://bit.ly/aorv3Y 

Thanks for your support, everyone. Have a good week.

This post is sponsored Dole and Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway.

9 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday: #12daysoffitmas and a short rant

  1. I totally agree with you! I hate looking at Facebook right now and I am in the same boat about not talking to my son either. I don’t want him to fear going to school. It is such a terrible event.

    Good luck in the campaign! I tweeted for you! Have a great week!

  2. I’m not at a point yet where my mind is letting me even digest the information from last week. As such, I’ll skip that part.

    Good luck this week! I hope you have an awesome week! Your t-rex description cracks me up! After carting around my son for the past 15 months and his brother before that, I feel like my arms are totally buff…. except they’re not LOL. I tweeted for ya! 🙂

  3. I am also having a hard time dealing with this tragedy as well. I still can’t turn on CNN without crying. I just pledged to the sistahood and also applied for campaign #15! I agree that the hazing has muscles that I didn’t even know I had hurting, in a good way of course 😉 Good luck to us both!

Leave a Reply

