Mamavation Monday: How NOT to Lose Weight Over the Holiday

Thanksgiving was supposed to be so fun. We really had it planned out. For once, we had both money and time. Which meant we could travel and see family during the break.

On Wednesday, my husband and daughter were home, but I had to work. So they took the dogs to the kennel and drove into Fort Worth to meet me for lunch. Olivia got to pick…so of course, we went to McDonalds.

I really only like one thing at McD’s–a quarter pounder with cheese. I allow myself one per year. But since we were headed to a Thanksgiving feast, I decided to be good. I ordered a salad.

BIG mistake.

Around 3:30 that afternoon, I was sitting at my desk and began sweating profusely. Then my tummy felt weird. I texted my husband. “Are you guys OK? Because I think I have food poisoning.”

My husband texted back, “We r good. R U ok?”

By that point, I sent a message to my cubemate, who is a walking pharmacy. “Do you have anything for nausea?”

By 4:00, I was chomping on a Pepto-Bismol tablet. “This will either cure me or make me throw up,” I joked.

By 4:45, I was doubled over in my cube. My cubemate peeked over at me. “Go home,” she said.

“But we still have 15 minutes.”

“Go. Home. Now.”

I managed to make the 30 minute drive home without running into traffic–a novelty. I held a grocery bag in my lap as I drove, with all the windows rolled down and my stereo blaring. I made it home, but just barely–I sprinted into the bathroom and all heck broke loose.

A trip to CareNow, followed by a transfer to the Emergency Room at our hospital. One hip of Phenegran and an IV drip. Plus 3 days of nothing but Gatorade.

That is how I want to spend Thanskgiving–said no one ever.

I was miserable. My husband and daughter went to Cracker Barrel for turkey. Our dogs came home from the kennel early. And we didn’t get to see family.

I don’t recommend going this route to lose weight over the holidays. And I don’t recommend the salad at McDonald’s. From now on, it’s all cooked food or nothing when we have fast food.

 

This post is sponsored by Eco-Foil and hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway.

5 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday: How NOT to Lose Weight Over the Holiday

Leave a Reply

