Frugal Friday: The Seven Sisters Bake Shoppe Is My New Love

My birthday is in August, which has, as long as I can remember, been a real drag.

When I was little, none of my friends were in town for a birthday party.

It’s always too hot to do anything.

By this time of the year in Texas, life can just be miserable.

Over the years I developed a love of fried pies and road trips, and finding fried pies on road trips. (Bear with me, I am going somewhere with this.)

And since it’s too hot to do much of anything, my birthday has become an excuse for a road trip–but not anywhere fancy or glamorous. I love finding a tiny Texas town and driving around in it just for fun.

Which leads us to Itasca, Texas–and the Seven Sisters Bake Shoppe.

We were recommended this shop by someone in the David’s in Itasca, and it was worth the three extra miles. Sure enough, it’s run by seven sisters and sure enough, it has every kind of baked good imaginable–and then some. Deli sandwiches, gourmet butter, bread made from wheat they grind themselves…and fried pies.

I posted this on Frugal Friday because if you are road tripping in the DFW area (and even if you’re not, you need to make plans just for this place) because the food is amazing and really affordable. Puts Whole Foods (aka Whole Paycheck) to shame.

It’s worth getting off the beaten path to find little gems like this, and even better to find a gem like this on your birthday. Thanks to the Seven Sisters, I had more than enough treats to make my summer birthday a delight.

Leave a Reply

