Frugal Friday: Shop Goodwill for Art

Hi everyone!

I don’t know if anyone saw this article, but I just had to share:  http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/goodwill-art-worth-thousands-16854821

I have found so many cool pieces of art at thrift stores and garage sales over the years. Nothing that compares to this, more’s the pity, but I have found some really amazing pieces over the years. My latest find was on shopgoodwill, which is an online auction site made up of several different Goodwills that band together to showcase their most interesting treasures.

I love the 1920s and the sheer Art Deco goodness of this woman’s dress caught my fancy. I ended up placing the winning bid at $20. The shipping, because it was already framed, cost as much as the item itself!

But for $40, I have an original, framed drawing of a flapper. On the reverse, there is a stamp for L. Mc Chesney, 940 25th Street SE, Auburn, Washington. There’s also a stamp for Auburn Custom Framing, and the drawing is signed by Lam. I’m putting this information out there just in case anyone knows anything about this drawing. The lady in the picture definitely inspires me. I may use her as a heroine in one of my novels some day!

If you’ve never scoured your local thrift stores, junk stores, or garage sales for art work, you might want to give it a try. There are some real treasures out there.

The picture goes quite well over our mantel, don’t you agree? And those are some other thrifted treasures I’ve picked up over the years.

Leave a Reply

