Weight Loss Wednesday: An Update on the WeightLossGuru Plan

Hi everyone! As I mentioned last week, I had an opportunity to try Pete Cohen‘s weight loss program, weightlossguru. I’ll be sharing my experiences on the plan with you over the coming weeks, as I see what works for me and what doesn’t.

This week, I lagged a bit behind to start. And if you lag behind, you get very politely worded emails from the program manager, encouraging you to sign in. I’ve been on programs that send reminders out before, and they seem really nagging or condescending. But these emails were pretty much to the point and, as I said, quite polite. The end result was that I actually logged on, rather than deciding to ignore them or send them to spam.

Each lesson on the plan has a 10 minute web-based lecture from Pete about losing weight. And if that sounds boring, rest assured that it’s actually not. Pete has an engaging, daffy personality–very British-type goofy–that makes these sessions fun to watch.

The first lesson was on the importance of keeping a food journal. I must admit I do very poorly at this with any diet plan. I write for a living–so writing anything “extra” feels like a waste of time. But this is an important behavioral weight loss tool, and since Pete’s program focuses on changing behavior, it’s crucial to his plan.

The second lesson is all about theĀ  proper tools for weight loss–all 9 of them. These are all common sense behaviors we should engage in anyway, such as drinking enough water and cutting back on sugar and stimulants. Seeing these all spelled out reminded me that this program is all about a sensible approach to weight loss.

And the third lesson, which was as far as I’ve gotten, is coming to my inbox tomorrow. Pete paces you on the journey so that you can dive into all of the lessons at once. It’s hard for me to hold back, because I want all the information quickly, BUT it is also another clue as to just how this program emphasizes slow changes. I’m enjoying it, and I’ll give you another update on Weight Loss Wednesday next week!

Leave a Reply

