Hair Styles: Playing Around All Week

I apologize belatedly for the lack  of blogs this week. My husband has been in Georgia all week for training and I have been getting a small taste of what single parenthood must be  like. My hat is off to all of you single parents out there–I don’t know how you do it.

My five year old daughter and I have been experimenting with our hair all week. I have longish, very thick hair. I often despair of my hair because it is so very fat. My daughter, on the other hand, has thin, fine, blonde hair. I used to cut it in an adorable bob, but ever since “Tangled” came out, she only wants long hair. And so we’ve let it grow.

I love having long hair because I can experiment with some hairstyles. The problem is I often get too frustrated and annoyed with my own hair and go back to the tried and true ponytail, or bun, or just straight down. But now that I am dressing up for my paralegal school, I thought it would be fun to try new, professional-looking ways to dress my hair.

This week I tried the Gibson tuck, a topsy-tail, a half-up Celtic knot, and a half-up figure eight knot. Since my husband is out of town, I’ve had no photographer. But my daughter did snap this photo of my hair in the Gibson tuck:

– Photo coming soon –

As you can see, it needs a lot of work. I have trouble fitting all my hair into the “pocket.” But the only way to get comfortable with it is to keep trying.

I used a tutorial to do a modified Lady Gaga hair bow on my daughter. I was amazed that it turned out so well. This blogger is great about breaking the style down step by step.

The modified Lady Gaga in my daughter’s fine, slippery hair.

My daughter’s hair also did really well in a topsy-tail, so I think we’ll be doing that one more often.

What hairstyles do you like?

Leave a Reply

